Student Award


The Student Award is designed to encourage young scientists to present their work. The award will be given to a limited number (within 10) of students.

To apply for the Student Award, a letter of application (name, date of birth, affiliation, with a self-recommendation) and a recommendation letter from the supervisor (any format) must be prepared. These letters in a PDF file including the abstract must be uploaded via this website.

The deadline is the same as that for the regular abstract, May 15 May 29, 2007. The applicant must be the first author of the presentation.

The Program Committee will announce the winners on the website by the end of August. Each winner will receive 50,000 Japanese Yen (JPY), which is only available to winners who attend the symposium. Note that winners must still pay the registration fee.

The winners will give a short oral presentation (5 min) at the Symposium. They should also submit a manuscript to the proceedings, which will appear in Surface and Interface Analysis.


Student Awards Winners

Ahmed Bakr Mohamed mahmoud El Basaty (Ministry of Higher Education, Egypt)
"Surface Plasmon - Cobalt Phthalocyanine Sensor for NO2 Gas"

Michihiro Hashimoto (Osaka Electro-Communication University, Japan)
"Mapping of Chemical Bonding States of Ag/Si(111) with Synchrotron Radiation Photo Emission Electron Microscopy"

Yusuke Kisaka (Tokyo University of Science, Japan)
"Study on Dynamics of Surface Structure by Rapid and Time-resolved X-ray Photoelectron Diffraction"

Walter Meissl (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
"Electron Emission from Highly Charged Ion Irradiated Alkali-halide Targets"

Tomoko Minami (Japan Women's University, Japan)
"Structural Analysis of Crystal Surfaces by Reflection High-Energy Electron Diffraction Patterns: The Si(111)77 Surface"

Tsunenori Nomaguchi (Osaka University, Japan)
"A Process for Exit Wave Reconstruction Using Through-focus Series"

Tatsuhiko Tanimura (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
"Analysis of X-ray Irradiation Effect in High-k Gate Dielectrics by Time-dependent Photoemission Spectroscopy Using Synchrotron Radiation"

Kouta Ueda (Nagoya University, Japan)
"First Observation of Dynamic Shape Change of a Gold Nano-particle Catalyst under Reaction Gas Environment by Transmission Electron Microscopy"

Tomohiro Urata (Waseda University, Japan)
"Application of the Single-atom Electron Source to Scanning Electron Microscope"

Ryosuke Watanabe (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
"Hysteresis of Magnetization Induced Second Harmonic Generation from the Co Doped Rutile TiO2(110) Surface"

Ryosuke Yabushita (Mie University, Japan)
"Newly Developed High Spatial Resolution X-ray Microscope Equipped with Carbon Nanotube Field Emission Cathode"