ALC'09 Logo
ALC ’09
December 6 (Sun) – 11 (Fri), 2009
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Maui, Hawaii, USA
(Current date/time: February 18, 2020 / 17:07 JST)
ALC'09 Logo

JSPS 141 Committee Award

The JSPS 141 Committee awards persons who have made the outstanding research on the microbeam analysis and gave the invaluable contribution to the JSPS 141 Committee. Winners are commended to honorary members os the JSPS 141 Committee. The winners in this time are

Prof. Dr. Gabor A. Somorjai (University of California at Berkeley)
“For the Development of Instruments that Enabled Exploration of Surface Chemistry
and Catalysis Science on the Atomic and Molecular Scale”
Prof. Dr. Harald Ibach (Research Center Jülich)
“For the Development of Novel Experimental Method, High Resolution
Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy and its Application to Surface Science”

Prof. Dr. Gabor A. Somorjai

During a period spanning almost four decades Professor Somorjai developed methods of research and instruments that enabled him to establish many of the important molecular features of surface chemistry and catalysis. For this reason he is often called the Father of Modern Surface Chemistry. The most significant accomplishments of Professor Somorjai are:

  1. Use of single crystal as models for studies of surface chemistry and catalysis.
  2. Low energy electron diffraction-surface crystallography.
  3. High pressure (atm) — low pressure (10−9 — 10−5 Torr) cells for combined surface analysis and catalytic reaction studies.
  4. Development of sum frequency generation surface vibrational spectroscopy for chemical applications.
  5. The high pressure scanning tunneling microscopy (STM).

These accomplishments are extraordinarily creative and were original contributions to microbeam analysis and to the scope of JSPS 141st Committee.

He is also a very important person for the community of Japanese scientists in the fields of Chemistry and Physics. He invited many young scientists as postdoctoral fellows or visiting professors to UC Berkeley during these 30 years.

He is a frequent attendee of this ALC conference and has encouraged young persons by giving valuable suggestions and stimulating discussion.

For the reasons described above, Professor Somorjai has been chosen as the Awardee for the JSPS 141st Committee Award at ALC 2009.

Prof. Dr. Harald Ibach

In 1970, Professor Harald Ibach developed a high-resolution-electron-energy-loss (HREEL) spectrometer. Through the first spectrometer, he demonstrated how to detect the phonons localized at surfaces. This had a tremendous impact on surface science world wide because it indicated clearly the existence of new huge research fields. The energy resolution of 15 meV in the first spectrometer was unbelievably high in those years. At that time, he was far ahead of the other research groups in the development race. For instance, he improved the energy resolution step by step on the basis of his own idea together with endless reconstructions of the spectrometer. As a result, he had great success as follows; 7 meV in 1974 by introduction of tooth-like structure on deflector surface, 6 meV in 1982 by construction of tandem spectrometers, 1.3 meV in 1986 from trajectory calculations including space-charge effects and 0.6 meV in 1995 by adaption of non-cylindrical deflectors.

By using the developed HREEL spectrometer, he clarified various surface processes of many kinds of molecules, which could not be solved. In addition, he found new phenomena relating with the surface phonons and magnons; for example, oxygen chemisorbed Ni(100), hydrogen-chemisorbed Mo(110), etc. The detection of surface spin waves through his special HREEL spectrometer also gave us a strong impression in ALC’05. These research achievements strongly influenced many scientists around the world and in Japan.

Secondly, many scientists came to his laboratory to collaborate to perform excellent works. He established truly one of the most attractive research fields, which contributed greatly to big progress in surface science. At present, his spectrometers are widely used as one of the most necessary instruments on the research front.

Lastly, he went to great effort to publish not only many scientific papers, but also tutorial textbooks concerning surface science, the electron spectrometer, and new methods of high resolution electron spectroscopy and solid state physics. His publications have benefited large numbers of scholars in physics and material science throughout the world. Of course, Japan is no exception.

On the basis of the above reasons, Professor Dr. Harald Ibach has been chosen as the awardee of the JSPS 141st Committee Award for the ALC conference this year.

Previous Laureates

ALC’07 (Kanazawa)

  • Prof. Dr. Charles S. Fadley (University of California, Davis)

ALC’05 (Hawaii)

  • Prof. Dr. Harald Rose (Technische Universität Darmstadt)

ALC’03 (Kauai)

  • Dr. Oliver C. Wells (IBM Corporation)
  • Prof. Dr. Ernst Bauer (Arizona State University)
  • Dr. Akira Tonomura (Hitachi, Ltd.)
JSPS Logo Sponsored by The 141st Committee on Microbeam Analysis
of Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)