ALC'09 Logo
ALC ’09
December 6 (Sun) – 11 (Fri), 2009
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Maui, Hawaii, USA
(Current date/time: February 18, 2020 / 15:44 JST)
ALC'09 Logo

Student Awards

The Student Awards is designed to encourage young scientists to present their work. The award will be given to a limited number (around 10) of students.

The applicant must be the first author of the presentation. To apply for the Student Award, a letter of application, 1 page of abstract and a recommendation from your supervisor must be prepared. The application form, including the abstract and the recommendation, can be written in English or Japanese. A written form must be saved in a PDF format and should be sent together with a presentation application. A template file for an application can be downloaded below.

The deadline is the same as that for the regular application, June 16 (Tue).

The program committee will announce the winners on the website by the end of July. Each winner will receive ¥60,000, which is only available to winners who attend the symposium and submit a manuscript for SIA (Surface and Interface Analysis). Note that winners must still pay the registration fee. The winners will give a short oral presentation (5 min) at the Symposium.

Templates for an Application to the Award

You can use one of the following templates for an application.

♦♦♦ Student Awards Winners ♦♦♦

Abbas ALSHEHABI (Kyoto University)
“Multilayer Nano-Characterization by a Portable Bremsstrahlung X-ray Reflectometer”
Makiko FUJII (The University of Tokyo)
“Development of Reconstruction Method for Highly Precise Shave-off Depth Profiling”
Emelie HILNER (Lund University)
“Influence of Au Nano Particles on the Self-Propelled Motion of Mesoscopic Droplets”
Hideaki HOZUMI (Tohoku University)
“Real-time Photoelectron Spectroscopy Study of 3C-SiC Nucleation and Growth on Si (001) Surface by Carbonization with Ethylene”
Daichi KAWANO (Osaka Institute of Technology)
“Measurement of a Charge Distribution in the Specimen Chamber in a Scanning Electron Microscope”
Yusuke KOBAYASHI (Mie University)
“Nano-structure Formation onto a Tip of Field Gas Ion Emitter by Field-assisted Oxygen Etching”
Yuki MORO (Yokohama National University)
“Size Control of Mn-Zn Ferrite Nanoparticles and Their XAFS Spectra”
Hiroaki TAKAHASHI (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
“Optical Second Harmonic Spectroscopy of the Electronic States of Stepped Rutile TiO2 (12 12 5) Surface Adsorbed with Formic Acid”
Thomas YORISAKI (Waseda University)
“CO Adsorption on LaB6 (111) and (100) Surface Investigated by RAIRS”
JSPS Logo Sponsored by The 141st Committee on Microbeam Analysis
of Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)